Arti Hurria Memorial Award

In 2019, the AGS Health in Aging Foundation established the Hurria Memorial Award for Emerging Investigators in Internal Medicine Who are Focused on the Care of Older Adults in honor of Arti Hurria, MD, a distinguished geriatrics oncologist and long-standing leader of efforts to integrate geriatrics into the internal medicine specialties. This award will recognize accomplishments of junior and mid-career clinician investigators in general internal medicine and the specialties of internal medicine whose research is focused on geriatrics aspects of their subspecialty and who are committed to a career in aging research. 

The Hurria Memorial Award will provide a $2,000 honorarium to the recipient. One award will be presented each year at the AGS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Arti Hurria, MD

Arti Hurria, MD, was a geriatrics oncologist who was one our country’s most passionate advocates for older adults with cancer. She was committed to improving the geriatrics competence of all physicians and health professionals and championed some of the American Geriatric Society's most influential programs connecting other specialists to geriatrics principles, and to the rewards of caring for older adults.

Dr. Hurria was Chair of the AGS Cancer and Aging Special Interest Group and the AGS Medical Specialties Section. She also lead the National Institute on Aging-supported conference series for the Grants for Early Medical/Surgical Specialists' Transition to Aging Research (GEMSSTAR) program. Along with being a world-class researcher, she was an ardent champion for team-based, interprofessional care and for integrating geriatrics principles into education so that all patients and families could receive person-centered, high-quality care.

Back To Top